vs
Allianz Care vs IMG Global (GPMI), benefit by benefit
Two of the most underwriting-flexible insurers in international private medical insurance (IPMI), but they flex in different directions. IPMIBenefits reads Allianz Care and IMG's Global Prima benefit by benefit, for individuals and for groups.
- IMG offers routine maternity as an optional add-on on all five tiers with a 10-month wait; Allianz covers it on Care Enhanced and Signature after 12 months.
- Both make dental optional: Allianz's module sits at your core level, IMG's has a 6-month wait with accidents covered immediately.
- Allianz's out-patient cover is a module matching the core; IMG's out-patient cover is in the core and scales by tier.
- Medical History Disregarded is only for company or group schemes meeting a minimum number of lives, not for individuals.
- Allianz pays 80% inpatient and 50% other benefits if pre-authorisation is skipped; IMG wants planned treatment authorised five working days ahead.
At a glance
| Allianz Care | IMG Global (GPMI) | |
|---|---|---|
| Plan structure | Care Base / Enhanced / Signature + modules | Bronze / Bronze Plus / Silver / Gold / Platinum |
| Cover levels | Care Base US$1.35m; Enhanced US$2.7m; Signature US$5m (Table of Benefits, Care, Nov 2025, p.6) | Five tiers; limits confirmed at quote |
| Dental and maternity | Optional out-patient and dental modules; maternity on Enhanced and Signature after 12 months | Optional dental (6-month wait) and maternity (10-month wait) |
| Underwriting | FMU / Moratorium (24-month wait) / CPME / switch | FMU / Moratorium / CPME / MHD (groups) |
| Cost control | Deductible; modules at core level | Deductible options |
| Claims | Pre-auth inpatient (80/50 if missed); MyHealth | Guarantee of Payment direct billing; pre-auth 5 working days |
| Servicing | MyHealth app + 24/7 helpline | MyIMG / MyALC portal + 24/7 helpline |
Where each one wins
Allianz's edge is individual underwriting choice and brand. For a person with medical history, being able to pick Full Medical Underwriting (certainty from day one), Moratorium (no health questions, a 24-month wait on pre-existing conditions) or CPME and switch terms is genuinely valuable, and you get the backing of one of the world's largest insurers with a clean core-plus-modules structure.
IMG's edge is modularity and group cover. Dental and maternity are bolt-ons you add only if you need them, each with its own waiting period, and for company or group schemes IMG's Medical History Disregarded (MHD) basis can set members' medical history aside entirely, subject to a minimum number of lives that varies by insurer. If IMG cannot offer the underwriting type you applied for, it may offer an alternative.
Both are core-plus-options plans, so neither bundles everything in. Allianz's out-patient and dental modules must sit at the same level as the core; IMG's out-patient cover is in the core and scales by tier, with dental and maternity as separate decisions. Our guide to what each benefit adds to the cost explains how to compare two modular quotes fairly.
Benefit by benefit
What each insurer publishes for the eight benefits IPMIBenefits tracks: Allianz from its Table of Benefits, Care, valid from 1 November 2025 (read 19 October 2026), IMG from its published summary. Where a document is silent we say so.
- Maternity: IMG offers routine maternity as an optional add-on on all five tiers with a 10-month waiting period. Allianz: Care Enhanced and Care Signature only, after a 12-month waiting period: routine maternity US$6,750 and US$13,500 per pregnancy, complications of childbirth US$13,500 and US$20,250, complications of pregnancy covered; not on Care Base (p.11).
- Dental and optical: both make dental optional. Allianz's dental module is bought at your core level; IMG's dental is available on every plan for an extra premium with a 6-month wait, accidents covered immediately. Optical: Allianz's Out-patient Plan pays prescribed glasses and lenses up to US$100, US$205 or US$405 (p.17); not stated on IMG's summary.
- Outpatient: Allianz provides consultations, diagnostics and therapies through an optional out-patient module at your core level, generally reimbursed via MyHealth. IMG includes out-patient cover in the core, scaling by tier.
- Mental health: Allianz: in-patient and day-care psychiatry and psychotherapy on all three core plans (p.7); out-patient sessions on the Out-patient Plan, 5, 15 or 30 visits a year, with a doctor's referral for psychotherapy (p.17). Not stated on IMG's summary.
- Cancer care: Allianz: oncology covered for in-patient, day-care and out-patient treatment on all three core plans, with pre-authorisation (p.10). Not itemised on IMG's summary, where hospital treatment and surgery sit in the core.
- Medical evacuation and repatriation: Allianz: included on all three core plans, with pre-authorisation: evacuation to the nearest appropriate medical centre, or repatriation to your home country if it is inside your area of cover (p.9). Not stated on IMG's summary.
- Chronic conditions: neither describes a management programme. Cover for an existing condition is decided by the underwriting route: Allianz's choice for individuals, IMG's wider list including MHD for groups.
- Wellness and health checks: Allianz: health and wellbeing checks on the Out-patient Plan, up to US$540, US$1,080 or US$2,025 a year, plus listed cancer screening (p.16). Not stated on IMG's summary.
Claims, pre-authorisation and servicing
Allianz requires pre-authorisation for inpatient and high-cost treatment, flagged in its table of benefits. If you skip it and the claim is later eligible, Allianz pays 80% of inpatient benefits and 50% of other benefits. Emergencies must be reported within 48 hours of admission and invoices submitted within 60 days of discharge; out-patient and dental claims generally go through the MyHealth app.
IMG asks for planned inpatient or day-patient treatment to be pre-authorised no later than five working days before admission. Once authorised and eligible, it issues a Guarantee of Payment to the hospital and settles directly. The MyIMG / MyALC member area handles pre-authorisation, claims and documents, backed by a 24-hour helpline and WhatsApp. Our pre-existing conditions guide covers the underwriting routes both insurers offer in more depth.
Which should you choose?
Choose Allianz Care if…
You are an individual or family who wants a choice of underwriting basis for your medical history, a clean core-plus-modules structure, and a global-insurer name behind the plan.
Choose IMG Global if…
You want modular cover where you pay for dental and maternity only if you need them, or you are arranging company or group cover where Medical History Disregarded can set medical history aside.
Read the full breakdowns: Allianz Care guide · IMG Global (GPMI) guide.
Compare the whole market in one conversation
Tell Nomi whether it is individual or group cover and it shows Allianz, IMG and the rest ranked on real price.
FAQ
Is Allianz or IMG cheaper?
Which is better for pre-existing conditions?
Which is better for a company or group scheme?
Which one includes maternity?
General information, not personal or medical advice. Based on each insurer’s plan documentation; exact terms, limits and underwriting are confirmed at quote. Prices are indicative. Allianz and IMG names and logos are the property of their respective owners.