
Optimum Global Gem Plan: cover benefit by benefit
IPMIBenefits reads Optimum Global's Gem Plan benefit by benefit. It is a Guernsey-issued international plan with benefit guides in three currencies, where the numbers live in the currency-specific guide supplied with your quote rather than on a web page.
- Benefit limits are not published on a web page; they are in the Gem guide for your currency and the schedule with your quote.
- Cancer and evacuation and repatriation are stated as available within the selected benefit table, with limits in the guide.
- Members must contact Optimum Global before planned inpatient or day-case treatment, and ideally within 24 hours of an emergency admission.
- Maternity, dental, mental health and wellness are not addressed in the public material, which is a documentation boundary, not a verdict.
- Optimum Global is unrelated to VUMI's Optimum VIP, which is a chronic-conditions plan from a different insurer.
The Gem Plan and how it is documented
Optimum Global's international private medical insurance (IPMI) product is the Gem Plan, issued by Optimum Global Insurance Company Limited, a Guernsey insurer. It is a different product from VUMI's similarly named Optimum VIP, which is a chronic-conditions plan from another insurer entirely; if you have seen both names, our VUMI Global page explains the other one.
The Gem Plan is aimed at individuals, families and groups living or working overseas. Its defining documentary feature is that the benefit guides are published separately in USD, GBP and EUR, and the current download library does not expose a single universal limit table in page text. Numeric limits must therefore be taken from the currency-specific guide supplied with the quote.
| Feature | Published position |
|---|---|
| Hospital cover | Inpatient and outpatient options; planned inpatient or day-case treatment requires contact in advance |
| Cancer | Available within the selected benefit table |
| Evacuation and repatriation | Available within the selected benefit table |
| Cost sharing | Deductible, coinsurance and copayment are defined on the schedule or benefit table |
| Currency | Separate Gem benefit guides in USD, GBP and EUR |
How to read a plan with no public limit table
A plan documented this way is not less complete than one with a brochure table; it just moves the comparison to the quote stage. IPMIBenefits suggests three steps:
- Ask for the Gem benefit guide in the currency you will be billed in, and the schedule that goes with your quote. The schedule is where the deductible, coinsurance and copayment that apply to you are set.
- Check each benefit you care about against the guide's benefit table, not against this page. Cancer and evacuation are stated as available within the table, but the limit and any conditions are in the guide.
- Confirm whether your quote is inpatient-only or includes the outpatient option, because that single choice changes the everyday value of the plan more than any limit.
Our guides to excess, deductible and cost sharing and inpatient versus outpatient cover cover the two decisions in that list.
What this plan does for each benefit
Each of the eight benefits IPMIBenefits covers, with what Optimum Global's published material states and where it is silent.
- Maternity: not stated on the insurer's published summary we reviewed.
- Dental and optical: not stated on the insurer's published summary we reviewed.
- Outpatient: an outpatient option is published alongside inpatient cover; the limits are in the currency-specific Gem guide.
- Mental health: not stated on the insurer's published summary we reviewed.
- Cancer care: available within the selected benefit table.
- Medical evacuation and repatriation: available within the selected benefit table.
- Chronic conditions: no programme is described. The published underwriting documents are an individual medical questionnaire, a CPME (continued personal medical exclusions) document and a moratorium guide, which indicates more than one route for existing conditions; the terms offered at quote decide.
- Wellness and health checks: not stated on the insurer's published summary we reviewed.
See Optimum Global's real price next to the market
Nomi quotes Optimum Global and 20+ other insurers live and ranks them on price, in about a minute.
Underwriting documents
Optimum Global publishes three underwriting documents: an individual medical questionnaire, a CPME form and a moratorium guide. In market terms those correspond to full medical underwriting, continued personal medical exclusions for people switching insurer, and moratorium underwriting with no upfront health questions. Which routes are available to you, and on what terms, depends on the current schedule. Our pre-existing conditions guide explains the difference between them in plain English.
Claims and pre-authorisation
- Members must contact Optimum Global before planned inpatient or day-case treatment.
- In an emergency, the membership guide asks for contact as soon as possible, ideally within 24 hours of admission.
- A Guarantee of Payment can allow settlement with the provider; other eligible claims require satisfactory proof.
- Optimum says it aims to assess claims within 14 working days. That is a published target, not an observed average.
Who stands behind the plan
The policy documentation identifies Optimum Global Insurance Company Limited, a Guernsey insurer, as issuer and describes AXA PPP healthcare reinsurance. Optimum Global Limited is FCA-regulated for insurance mediation. Exact eligibility, area, limits, exclusions and underwriting depend on the current schedule and the Gem guide you choose.
Who Optimum Global suits
A reasonable fit if you want a plan billed in USD, GBP or EUR with a clear choice between inpatient-only and inpatient-plus-outpatient, cancer and evacuation within the benefit table, and more than one underwriting route on paper. Groups as well as individuals are within the stated audience.
Worth comparing elsewhere if you want to see maternity, dental, mental health or wellness terms before you request a quote, or if you prefer an insurer that publishes its full benefit table online. The insurer hub shows which insurers do.
Frequently asked questions
Is Optimum Global the same as VUMI's Optimum VIP?
Where are the Gem Plan's benefit limits?
Does the Gem Plan cover cancer and evacuation?
What underwriting options does Optimum Global publish?
What do I need to do before hospital treatment?
How long does Optimum Global take to assess a claim?
Compare every benefit in one conversation
Tell Nomi which benefits you need and it shows how Optimum Global and the rest of the market compare.
This page is general information, not personal or medical advice, and is based on Optimum Global's published document library and membership guide dated 1 December 2024; exact eligibility, area, limits, exclusions and underwriting depend on the current schedule and chosen Gem guide and are confirmed by the insurer at quote. Prices are indicative. No network total, named hospital partnership or average approval time is asserted. Optimum Global and related names and logos are the property of their respective owners.