
IPH Emerald Plan: cover benefit by benefit
IPMIBenefits reads IPH's Emerald Plan benefit by benefit: three levels where hospital, cancer and evacuation are on every one, outpatient starts at Advance, and the published differences are mostly in lifetime limits and home nursing.
- General and specialist outpatient is not included on Core; Advance and Deluxe cover it at full refund, subject to the policy.
- Full refund remains subject to the policy's conditions, overall limits, reasonable and customary charges and marked restrictions.
- Hospice lifetime limits are $/£25,000, $/£30,000 and $/£50,000 by level; stem-cell treatment is not included on Core.
- Home nursing runs to 4 weeks on Core, 8 weeks on Advance and 26 weeks on Deluxe.
- Maternity, dental, mental health and wellness are not stated in the overview; the full policy sets out underwriting and exclusions.
Plans and cover levels
The IPH Emerald Plan is IPH's individual international private medical insurance (IPMI), positioned for private healthcare abroad or locally, with benefit schedules in USD and GBP. It comes in three levels, Core, Advance and Deluxe. Unlike ladders that raise an overall annual limit at each step, Emerald's published comparison keeps the big hospital benefits the same across the range and differentiates on outpatient cover, a handful of lifetime limits and the length of home nursing.
| Benefit | Core | Advance | Deluxe |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hospital and day-care | Full refund, subject to policy | Full refund, subject to policy | Full refund, subject to policy |
| General and specialist outpatient | Not included | Full refund* | Full refund* |
| Cancer and organ transplant | Full refund, subject to policy | Full refund, subject to policy | Full refund, subject to policy |
| Hospice lifetime limit | $/£25,000 | $/£30,000 | $/£50,000 |
| Stem-cell treatment lifetime limit | Not included | $/£75,000 | $/£150,000 |
| Home nursing | Up to 4 weeks | Up to 8 weeks | Up to 26 weeks |
*Full refund remains subject to the policy's conditions, overall limits, reasonable and customary charges and any marked restrictions. The table is from the published GBP plan overview; the current full policy governs.
How to read a full-refund plan
A benefit marked full refund means the plan pays the eligible cost of that benefit rather than a fixed amount, but it does not mean there is no ceiling. Three qualifiers in IPH's own wording matter: the policy's conditions, its overall limits, and reasonable and customary charges. A hospital bill above what is customary for the country of treatment can be reduced even when the benefit is full refund.
The lifetime limits are the other number to understand. Hospice and stem-cell treatment are capped for the life of the policy rather than per year, so the difference between Advance and Deluxe is partly a difference in how much a serious illness could draw on over several years. Our guide to annual limits, sub-limits and waiting periods explains lifetime caps alongside annual ones, and our inpatient versus outpatient guide covers the Core-versus-Advance decision.
See IPH's real price next to the market
Nomi quotes IPH Emerald and 20+ other insurers live and ranks them on price, in about a minute.
What this plan does for each benefit
Each of the eight benefits IPMIBenefits covers, with what IPH's published overview states and where it is silent.
- Maternity: not stated on the insurer's published summary we reviewed.
- Dental and optical: not stated on the insurer's published summary we reviewed.
- Outpatient: general and specialist outpatient is not included on Core and is full refund, subject to the policy, on Advance and Deluxe. Advance and Deluxe are described as adding broader outpatient benefits.
- Mental health: not stated on the insurer's published summary we reviewed.
- Cancer care: cancer and organ transplant are full refund, subject to the policy, on every level. Stem-cell treatment is not included on Core and carries lifetime limits of $/£75,000 on Advance and $/£150,000 on Deluxe.
- Medical evacuation and repatriation: all three levels publish emergency medical evacuation, medical repatriation and local ambulance cover.
- Chronic conditions: not stated on the insurer's published summary we reviewed. Deluxe adds benefits including congenital-condition treatment. Underwriting is set out in the full policy.
- Wellness and health checks: not stated on the insurer's published summary we reviewed.
What the full policy decides
IPH's current official site links separate How it works and FAQ material, while the plan overview supplies the benefit comparison. Applicants must use the current full policy for eligibility, area of cover, deductible, underwriting, exclusions and pre-authorisation; none of those is set out in the overview, so none is asserted here. If you have medical history, our pre-existing conditions guide lists the questions to put to the insurer before you apply.
Who IPH Emerald suits
A good fit if you want full-refund hospital and cancer cover with evacuation included on even the entry level, and a simple three-step choice about outpatient cover and lifetime limits. Buyers billed in sterling will value the GBP schedule.
Worth comparing elsewhere if dental, optical, maternity, mental health or wellness benefits are priorities, since the published overview does not set them out, or if you want the deductible and underwriting options visible before quoting. The insurer hub shows who publishes those details.
Frequently asked questions
What are the IPH Emerald plan levels?
Does IPH Emerald Core include outpatient treatment?
Is evacuation included on IPH Emerald?
What does full refund mean on this plan?
Does IPH Emerald cover maternity, dental or mental health?
How do the lifetime limits differ by level?
Compare every benefit in one conversation
Tell Nomi which benefits you need and it shows how IPH Emerald and the rest of the market compare.
This page is general information, not personal or medical advice, and is based on IPH's published Emerald product page and GBP plan overview (benefit overview version 1.102024); applicants must use the current full policy for eligibility, area, deductible, underwriting, exclusions and pre-authorisation, and exact terms are confirmed by the insurer at quote. Prices are indicative. No network total, named partnership or average approval time is asserted. IPH, Emerald and related names and logos are the property of their respective owners.