
HCI NIMBL Health: cover benefit by benefit
IPMIBenefits reads HCI NIMBL Health benefit by benefit. It is one of the most modular plans on this site: a core with four cap choices and five deductibles, then outpatient, dental and evacuation as separate modules, with maternity available to groups only.
- The core annual cap is chosen from US$250,000, US$1m, US$2m or US$3m, and the deductible from US$0 to US$10,000.
- Evacuation is an optional module whose benefits are subject to the core cap, so it is not included automatically.
- The dental module carries a six-month waiting period; maternity is for groups only with a 12-month waiting period.
- Organ transplant and hospice care carry lifetime limits per policy, sitting alongside the annual cap rather than inside it.
- Eligibility is living outside your country of nationality with a maximum entry age of 64, under full medical underwriting.
How NIMBL is built: core plus modules
NIMBL Health is a modular expatriate international private medical insurance (IPMI) plan administered by HealthCare International and underwritten by MGEN. Rather than a ladder of named tiers, it offers a core with a choice of annual cap and deductible, then a set of optional modules you switch on individually. Eligibility shown is living outside your country of nationality, with a maximum entry age of 64.
| Module | Structure |
|---|---|
| Core | Inpatient treatment, cancer and emergency dental, up to the selected annual cap |
| Outpatient | Optional; separate caps and US$0, 100, 300 or 500 deductible choices |
| Dental | Optional routine and major treatment; six-month waiting period |
| Assistance/evacuation | Optional; benefits subject to the selected core cap |
| Maternity | Groups only; 12-month waiting period |
The core annual cap is chosen from US$250,000, US$1m, US$2m or US$3m, and the core deductible from US$0, 500, 1,000, 5,000 or 10,000. Because the evacuation module's benefits are subject to the core cap you choose, the cap decision affects more than hospital bills. Our guide to excess, deductible and cost sharing explains how a core deductible and an outpatient deductible work together.
What the core includes
Core benefits include inpatient and day-patient care, cancer, organ transplant up to a US$500,000 lifetime limit, hospice and terminal care up to US$200,000 lifetime, and emergency dental up to US$10,000. NIMBL uses geographic zones and includes up to 60 days of emergency treatment outside the selected area. The exact country zone, exclusions and pre-authorisation rules must be checked in the policy wording.
Reading tip: the two lifetime limits are per policy, not per year, so they sit alongside the annual cap rather than inside it. Our guide to annual limits, sub-limits and waiting periods explains how to read a lifetime cap next to an annual one.
What this plan does for each benefit
Each of the eight benefits IPMIBenefits covers, with what HCI's published NIMBL material states and where it is silent.
- Maternity: available to groups only, with a 12-month waiting period. Individuals cannot add it on the published structure.
- Dental and optical: emergency dental up to US$10,000 is in the core. Routine and major dental is an optional module with a six-month waiting period. Optical is not stated on the summary we reviewed.
- Outpatient: an optional module with its own caps and a choice of US$0, 100, 300 or 500 deductible. Without it, NIMBL is a hospital plan.
- Mental health: not stated on the insurer's published summary we reviewed.
- Cancer care: included in the core, up to the selected annual cap.
- Medical evacuation and repatriation: an optional assistance/evacuation module, with benefits subject to the core cap you select. It is not automatic, so add it deliberately if you live somewhere evacuation is realistic.
- Chronic conditions: not stated on the insurer's published summary we reviewed. The plan is subject to full medical underwriting, so a condition you already have is assessed at application.
- Wellness and health checks: not stated on the insurer's published summary we reviewed.
See NIMBL's real price next to the market
Nomi quotes HCI NIMBL and 20+ other insurers live, with the modules you choose, in about a minute.
Underwriting and eligibility
The plan is subject to full medical underwriting: you declare your history at application and the insurer sets the terms before cover starts. Eligibility shown on the product page is living outside your country of nationality with a maximum entry age of 64. If you have medical history, our pre-existing conditions guide explains what full medical underwriting can and cannot do for you compared with a moratorium route.
Claims and who stands behind the plan
The public product page establishes the benefit structure but does not publish an end-to-end claims workflow or an observed average approval time, so none is described here. HealthCare International is the MGA; policies are underwritten by Mutuelle Générale de l'Éducation Nationale (MGEN). HealthCare International Europe GmbH – UK Branch is an appointed representative of FCA-authorised HealthCare International Global Network Ltd.
Who HCI NIMBL suits
A good fit if you want to build a plan from parts: a hospital core at the cap and deductible you choose, then only the modules you will use. Expatriates under 65 who mainly want big-event protection, with the option of adding outpatient or dental later, are the natural audience. Group buyers can add maternity.
Worth comparing elsewhere if you are an individual who needs maternity, if you want evacuation included automatically, if you are over the entry age, or if mental health and wellness benefits matter and you want them set out before quoting. The insurer hub lists who includes those as standard.
Frequently asked questions
What is in the NIMBL core?
Can an individual add maternity to NIMBL?
Is evacuation included with NIMBL?
How does the outpatient module work?
Who can buy NIMBL and how is it underwritten?
Who underwrites HCI NIMBL?
Compare every benefit in one conversation
Tell Nomi which modules you need and it shows how NIMBL and the rest of the market compare.
This page is general information, not personal or medical advice, and is based on HCI Group's published NIMBL Health product page, module tables and brochure link; exact country zone, exclusions and pre-authorisation rules must be checked in the policy wording, and exact terms, limits and underwriting are confirmed by the insurer at quote. Prices are indicative. No network total, named hospital partnership or average approval time is asserted. HCI, NIMBL and related names and logos are the property of their respective owners.